The Awards Committee works to recognize the outstanding achievements of our provincial students, industry partners and members.

Core Mandate

The Awards Committee is responsible for:

  • Promoting the ACE-WIL awards and nomination timelines;
  • Ensuring updated forms/guidelines are distributed to the membership;
  • Vetting nominations and determining the ACE-WIL Student of the Year Award winners;
  • Soliciting recommendations to the Board for the ACE-WIL Outstanding Contribution Award nominations;
  • Vetting nominations and determining the ACE-WIL Industry Partner of the Year Award winner; and
  • Developing new initiatives for recognizing ACE-WIL members, students and industry partners.

Meeting Dates

Meetings will be convened on a regular and/or an as needed basis, in person or by teleconference

Current Members

Committee Chair
Sue Stanley, Simon Fraser University  >> contact


Sue Brown, Royal Roads University
Christy Dodds, Capilano University
Lianne Johnston, Douglas College
Lynda Robinson, Vancouver Island University
Meg Thompson, University of Victoria

What have we been working on?

The Awards Committee primarily manages the ACE-WIL Student of the Year, Outstanding Contribution and Industry Partner of the Year awards. We would like to acknowledge the work involved in putting award nomination applications together, especially for the Student of the Year. The decision of selecting winners is challenging indeed, especially considering the calibre and accomplishments of the student nominees. We should all feel very proud of the significant impact that our students, colleagues and partners are making in their communities.