An image of...
In this issue:
  1. WIL-Community of Practice
  2. Greetings from the ACE-WIL PD Committee
  3. Congratulations to the 2023 SOYTA and IPOTY winners

WIL-Community of Practice

On February 20th, ACEWIL hosted its 3rd WIL-Community of Practice meeting, with Larissa Petrillo of KPU sharing her work leading the institution’s WIL strategy. This included KPU’s WIL page (, examples of WIL projects, WIL Database, the Service Learning Assistance (SLA) program, Learning Outcomes for WIL, and more.

If you missed the WIL-CoP and would like to hear Larissa’s presentation, you can access the recording here.

The WIL-CoP is organized and hosted by the ACEWIL Membership Committee. If you are interested in sharing your WIL work at the next WIL-CoP meeting (will take place mid-April), please email Alon Eisenstein at

In collaboration with Thompson Rivers University Career and Experiential Learning Department, the ACE-WIL PD Committee is excited to showcase the third of the 2024 PD Blog Series from TRU’s Open Educational Textbook titled “From University to Career – Creating a Successful Transition,” designed to guide students seamlessly from post-secondary into the professional world.

The third blog post comes to you from Dr. Brad Harasymchuk, currently an Assistant Teaching Professor in the School of Education, and formerly Learning Strategist and Experiential Learning Coordinator, TRU.

Title: Volunteering and Experiential Learning, “From University to Career” textbook, TRU (Chapter 4). Go to the ACE-WIL website to read Volunteering and Experiential Learning, “From University to Career” textbook, TRU (Chapter 4).

We invite you to explore each chapter and provide valuable feedback through our Chapter Feedback tool

On behalf of the ACE-WIL PD Committee, thank you to Dr. Brad Harasymchuk for their insightful and meaningful contribution as Chapter ­­­­­­­­4 author of the open educational resource “From University to Career: Creating a Successful Transition, TRU”

Congratulations to 2023 SOYTA & IPOTY winners

SOYTA 2023 Recipients

Co-op University:
Winner: Himali Chhabra (UBC)
Honorable Mention: Ahana Ahluwalia (TRU)

Co-op College:
Winner: Celia Kurniawan (Douglas College)
HM: Francis Lecours (Camosun College)

WIL University
Winner: Jessica Tran (UBC)
HM: Alexandria Johnstone (RRU)

WIL College:
Winner: Jared Smith (Camosun College)

IPOTY 2023 Recipients

WIL: Holiday Inn and Suites North Vancouver (Alam Charmaine)

Co-op: Laurel Point Inn (Julie Wright)
Want to submit content for an ACE-WIL e-newsletter?

Submit your content to the Communications Team as For tips and information about submitting content, check out the details here. Please include any necessary images or links.
Be sure to stop by the new ACE-WIL BC/Yukon LinkedIn page to catch the latest updates